Clervaux - cité de l'image a.s.b.l.

Who we are

The association Clervaux - cité de l'image elaborates different programms around the medium of photography:

- temporary exhibitions,

- a project to show art in public space,

- different workshops,

- an artist in residence programm.

Read more

THE BEGINNING

In 2004 a cultural initiative started in Clervaux, in the heart of the Luxembourg Ardennes. The close collaboration between the municipality of Clervaux, the Natural Park Our and the photo exhibition « The Family of Man » led to a cultural project whose subject relies on the given structures. Its concept fits perfectly into the regional strategy and holds a potential for exchange on different levels with the neighbour communities and related institutions. The medium photography is in the centre of different researches. Since July 2004 the town of Clervaux presents itself as "cité de l'image".

At this time the project is managed by a working group of volunteers who aim at developing the cultural offer in the region.

THE MISSON

Since more than ten years the Family of Man is situated in the castle of Clervaux. The permanent exhibition is an important element for Clervaux and for the history of photography. This collection of photographs represents the basis of the project "cité de l'image" and defines all reflexion that gives attention to photography.

To always stimulate anew the engagement with the historical collection, it is necessary to be confronted with contemporary works. In fact, the promotion of contemporary photography in the region is one of the basic concerns of the organisers.

The "cité de l'image" proposes different independent projects all around the photographic image. Various events - exhibitions, ateliers, and conferences - are organized to strongly emphasise the identity of Clervaux. All of this is meant to analyse the role of the images within the actual social and local countryside.

Finally, the project serves as platform for young artists from the region, from the Grand Duchy and / or from the foreign countries.

THE ASSOCIATION (a.s.b.l.)

To develop the fundament that has been worked out in the cultural programm, an association (association sans but lucratif, i.e. registered association) has been founded in September 2008: Clervaux - cité de l'image a.s.b.l.

Its mission is the promotion of Clervaux as "cité de l'image" on local, national and transnational level. This also includes the broadening of the cultural and touristic offer.

THE CONTEXT

Thanks to a cultural investment, which has been promoted from the municipality of Clervaux and the close and professional collaboration with reliable partners, the association can realise its projects and guarantee the exchange with the population and the local economic authorities.

One of these partners is the Natural Park Our. Clervaux is one out of eleven communities within the Natural Park Our. The unit Natural Park Our is concerned with the constant exchange between the different communities. Furthermore its mission is the development and promotion of socio-cultural projects.

The collaboration with the Natural Park Our and the "Family of Man" integrates the community Clervaux into a strategy of exchange and communication that aims for a regional, national and transnational expansion. There is already a national north-south connection through the common interest that is brought to photography, which connects the "cité de l'image" with the city Dudelange, particularly with the "Centre National de l'Audiovisuel" (CNA / www.cna.lu.).

THE STRUCTURE

The structure of the "cité de l'image" is based on its modular character: interactive modules form a program that connects the free choice between a permanent exhibition, temporary events and an artistic space under the open sky with an artist in residence project.

- The Family of Man is a lasting cultural offer, permanent and timeless. The exhibition remains accessible in the interiors of the castles throughout the years.

- The Gardens ("Jardins") are a constant structure whose content changes every 12 months.

- The temporary exhibitions offer a renewable and varied program.

The projects melt together and add to each other, either through their thematic perspective or through activities like combined openings, conferences or ateliers.

Clervaux - cité de l'image a.s.b.l.

Wer wir sind

Die „cité de l'image" erklärt sich durch ihren modularen Charakter. Die Vereinigung organisiert unterschiedliche Veranstaltungen rund um das Medium Fotografie, die sich in 4 Module gliedern:

- Wechselausstellungen,

- Ausstellungen im öffentlichen Raum,

- kulturelle und pädagogische Workshops,

- sowie eine Künstlerresidenz.

Weiterlesen

DIE ANFÄNGE

Im Jahr 2004 nahm eine kulturelle Initiative in Clervaux, im Herzen der Luxemburger Ardennen, ihren Anfang. Die enge Zusammenarbeit zwischen der Gemeinde Clervaux, dem Naturpark Our und der fotografischen Sammlung „The Family of Man" führte zu einem Kulturprojekt, dessen Thematik sich in den bereits bestehenden Strukturen begründet. Sein Konzept fügt sich perfekt in die regionale Strategie ein und birgt ein Potential zum Austausch auf verschiedenen Ebenen mit den Nachbargemeinden und verwandten Institutionen. Das Medium Fotografie steht im Zentrum der unterschiedlichen Recherchen. Seit Juli 2004 präsentiert sich Clervaux als „cité de l'image", als Stadt des Bildes.

Zu diesem Zeitpunkt wird das Projekt von einer Arbeitsgruppe aus Freiwilligen geleitet, deren Ziel es ist, das kulturelle Angebot in der Region zu fördern.

DIE AUFGABE

Seit mehr als zehn Jahren befindet sich die Sammlung „The Family of Man" im Schloss von Clervaux. Die Dauerausstellung ist ein wichtiger Bestandteil für die Ortschaft und die Geschichte der Fotografie. Diese Sammlung von Bildern bildet die Grundlage des Projekts „cité de l'image" und definiert jegliche Reflexion, die sich mit der Fotografie befasst.

Um die Beschäftigung mit der historischen Sammlung immer wieder von Neuem anzuregen, ist eine Konfrontation mit zeitgenössischen Arbeiten geboten. Faktisch stellt die Bekanntmachung von zeitgenössischer Kunst, vielmehr von gegenwärtiger Fotografie, in der Region eines der grundlegenden Anliegen der Organisatoren dar.

DER VEREIN (a.s.b.l.)

Um diese erarbeiteten Grundlagen weiter zu entwickeln, wurde im September 2008 ein Verein ohne Gewinnzweck (association sans but lucratif) gegründet: Clervaux - cité de l'image a.s.b.l.

Seine Aufgabe besteht in der Förderung von Clervaux als „cité de l'image" auf lokaler, nationaler und grenzüberschreitender Ebene. Dies umfasst ebenfalls die Ausweitung des kulturellen und touristischen Angebots.

DER KONTEXT

Dank einer kulturellen Investition, gefördert durch die Gemeinde Clervaux und der engen und professionellen Zusammenarbeit mit zuverlässigen Partnern, kann der Verein seine Projekte realisieren und den Austausch mit der Bevölkerung und den lokalen Wirtschaftsträgern sichern.

Einer dieser Partner ist der Naturpark Our. Clervaux ist eine von elf Gemeinden im Naturpark Our. Der Verband kümmert sich um den ständigen Austausch zwischen den verschiedenen Gemeinden und erlaubt eine größere Wirkkraft in ihrer Veranstaltungs-Programmation. Darüber hinaus ist eine seiner Aufgaben die Entwicklung und Förderung von soziokulturellen Projekten.

Die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Naturpark Our und der Sammlung „The Family of Man" bindet die Gemeinde Clervaux ein in eine Strategie des Austauschs und der Kommunikation. Eine Nord-Süd-Verbindung besteht bereits durch das gemeinsame Interesse, das dem fotografischen Bild zugetragen wird, welches die „cité de l'image" mit der Stadt Dudelange verbindet, namentlich mit dem Centre National de l'Audiovisuel (CNA / www.cna.lu).

In der Zusammenfassung stellt Clervaux mit der Sammlung „The Family of Man" ein dauerhaftes kulturelles Angebot. Die zeitlose Ausstellung bleibt im Innern des Schlosses über Jahre hinweg zugänglich.

Das Projekt „Gärten" (Jardins), zeigt Fotografie unter freiem Himmel und bildet eine konstante Struktur, deren Inhalt alle 12 Monate wechselt.

Die Wechselausstellungen bieten ein erneuerbares und abwechslungsreiches Programm.

Schließlich richtet sich die Künstlerresidenz an junge Künstler aus der Region, aus dem Großherzogtum und / oder aus dem Ausland.

Die Projekte verschmelzen und ergänzen sich gegenseitig.

© Clervaux - cité de l'image a.s.b.l. 2011